What I’ve Been Reading

Here are a few reviews that I posted on my new Goodreads account. In later posts I’ll go a little more in depth with each book one by one, but for now enjoy some thoughts on my new favorites.

A Surplus of LightA Surplus of Light by Chase Connor
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I bought the audiobook version of this wonderful story by Chase Conner, and I’m so glad I did. The voice was perfect in capturing the emotions of both Ian and Mike. This is a deeply emotional book, one that really struck a chord with me. I highly recommend A Surplus of Light and will definitely read more of Chase Connor’s work.

View all my reviews Gay Love and Other Fairy TalesGay Love and Other Fairy Tales by Dylan James
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is one of the most recent YA books that I’ve read, and definitely worth checking out if you are looking for something sweet and romantic to melt your heart. You really feel the connection between Benjamin and Jordan, and cheer them on as they discover their way to each other. There’s a sequel out as well, and I can’t wait for what’s in store for Ben and Jordan.

View all my reviews There Goes Sunday SchoolThere Goes Sunday School by Alexander C. Eberhart
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I first heard about this book on the Big Gay Fiction Podcast, and I knew it was one I had to read. The story revolves around Mike Hernandez, a closeted teen that tries to keep a tight lid on his secret. Art offers him one of his few releases, which he keeps in a tightly guarded sketchbook. One day the sketchbook goes missing, and who finds it adds a huge wrinkle in Mike’s life.

What drew me into There’s Go Sunday School is how religion plays a big role in someone’s decision to stay in the closet. The struggle in this book is so well done and fleshed out by the occasional aside by Mike. The relationships feel realistic, and even when you think you know where the story is going, a curveball comes your way. Definitely worth checking out.

View all my reviews

What are some books that you enjoyed recently?

Leave a comment